Skip to content

Mexican Spoon Bread- Fall Fest Week 1

09/05/2010

I have been ghosting around several blogs for years now, enjoying the posts but never commenting. One I’ve been reading for awhile is Sweetnicks, full of fun, tasty recipes. I had been busy all summer,pretty separated from technology, and when I started reading again, Cate was finishing up her participation in Summerfest, making the most out of seasonal crops. I was disappointed I didn’t know about it sooner, but rejoice! It was continuing into Fall Fest, celebrating my favorite time of year. The star ingredient for September first? Sweet and spicy peppers. There has been a beautiful green chile just sitting in the fruit basket for a few days now. A gift from my dad’s co-worker, the pepper is a shining example of summer bounty. All the gardeners I know have had beautiful veggies this year, despite it being the hottest summer of the decade. So what to make? I considered a salsa or guac but that seemed bland so I hit a few sites to see if it would spark inspiration. Most featured dishes were classic Mexican, but too heavy. I finally decided on Mexican spoon bread, since I have been craving good corn bread for a few weeks now.Recipe from Denver Green Chili

Ingredients
1 cup yellow cornmeal
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup milk
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs, beaten
1 15-ounce can cream-style corn
1/2 cup green chiles (canned or fresh roasted), mild or 1/2 mild and 1/2 hot*
1 1/2 cups grated Monterey Jack cheese

Directions
Mix cornmeal, salt and soda. Blend milk and chiles in a blender. Pour milk/chile mixture and oil in with dry ingredients and mix. Add eggs, corn and cheese and mix well. Pour into 9 X 9 square baking pan and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in the center comes out clean.

I used 2 fresh peppers, and roasted them just before. So easy! And delicious! What I thought to be a chile, since I last viewed it had ripened into a plain ol’ red pepper! I used it anyway, along with a jalapeno, which gave the bread a zippy spicy-sweetness.

Sweat it out!

I used regular canned corn over creamed, completely by accident ( I just grabbed the first can out of the cabinet) but it still came out delicious. The bread was light, moist, and zesty. I will definitely make this again, with actual chiles, and fresh corn.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

