Skip to content

Authentic Irish Scones

03/17/2011
tags: ,

Happy St. Patty’s Day! I visited Ireland on spring break my freshman year of college…with my dad. No, this isn’t an intense psychological breakdown of the trip and it’s affect on our relationship or anything, it’s actually about a recipe I want to post. One morning on our trip, I think it was our first full day in Galway, we were taken to Rathbaun Farm for breakfast. We took a tour and then sat down to delicious scones, jam, and Guinness bread. After we left, they were kind enough to give us a print of their recipes. I made the scones as soon as I got home, and ever since then they have been a huge hit at family and work events. In fact, I made them for my St. Patrick’s lunch at work today and remembered to take photos. So here they are.

 

Recipe calls for:

8oz flour
2 oz butter
1oz sugar
5tbsp buttermilk
1 egg
fruit( Irish for raisins) or mix-ins of your choice ( I used chocolate chips this time)

Mix dry ingredients with butter, until it has a pill-like consistency. Add egg and buttermilk.
Mix by hand until cohesive, mixture will crumble easily. Fold in your fruit or whatever.
Form into teaspoon sized balls. These are very rustic, so don’t worry about them being all Martha Stewart.  Bake in a very hot oven ( 355° F) for 15-20 minutes or until slightly browned around the edges.
Try not to eat them all before you bring them to work.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

