Skip to content

30 Day Song Challenge-Day 4, A Song That Makes You Sad

04/28/2011

There’s little in taking or giving,
There’s little in water or wine;
This living, this living, this living
Was never a project of mine.
Oh, hard is the struggle, and sparse is
The gain of the one at the top,
For art is a form of catharsis,
And love is a permanent flop,
And work is the province of cattle,
And rest’s for a clam in a shell,
So I’m thinking of throwing the battle-
Would you kindly direct me to hell?

So says Ms. Dorothy Parker in one of her most memorable poems, Coda. ( Second most being “I like to have a martini, two at the very most. By three I’m under the table, by four I’m under the host!) Today’s challenge is to identify a song that makes me sad. In thinking it over, all I can think of is the line from Coda- ‘art is a form of catharsis’. Music has never made me sad. Only allowed me to wallow in or get over my hangups. But the challenge is what it is, and in addition to my pity party mix as linked above, I’ll add a song by The Mountain Goats because god knows I wore this shit out when I was at my best and my worst. I’ve often said John Darnielle has the voice to sing my soul. Here are my top three Mountan Goats songs for Sad Panda Time.

“The first time I made coffee for just myself, I made too much of it. But I drank it all just ’cause you hate it when I let things go to waste. And I wandered through the house like a little boy lost in the mall and an astrounaut could have seen the hunger in my eyes from space”

They catch that just-punched-in-the-gut feeling of a fresh breakup perfectly.

“I came back I spread out my supplies on the counter by the sink, I looked myself right in the eyes. St. Joseph’s baby aspirin, Bartles and Jaymes, and you or your memory.”

Probably the saddest of all, because of the Cobain reference of course. I love the Raskalnikov line.

Next are a few that just kill me. First, Tom Waits.

Tom Waits makes me sad on his own, but this is the clincher. It was a toss-up between his and the Emiliana Torrini version but I think the original is more than sufficient, though it’s intention is more tongue-in-cheek than it lets on.

Jeff Buckley, Fuck. I am enamored with every and all versions of Leonard Cohen’s Hallelujah, even the Wainwright ( who is featured next), But KD Lang fucking kills it. Fucking Buckley, fuck, fuck, fuck. I can’t. Buckley and Lang, I can’t decide. I’m showing Lang.

And last, Rufus Wainwright. This was in the wallowing mix but bears repeating. This got me through depression before I knew what depression really was.

Going to bed in a great mood now ♥

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

