Skip to content

30 Day Song Challenge-Day 7, A Song That Reminds You of a Certain Event

04/30/2011

There was a time a couple of years ago when I was pretty depressed. I was home from school when I didn’t want to be, none of my friends came home and I had no local social life. I left my wonderful boyfriend for an OK, more local guy who wound up leaving me a few months into the relationship. When I started my summer job in ’09, I was sleeping with a bottle of vodka next to the bed. Thankfully, one of my co-workers, Adam, invited me on an outing. It was a wine tasting for his birthday, his brother was sick and he had an extra seat in the limo. I was hesitant, but I knew a couple of the people going so I went. Thanks to Adam I had kicked off a pretty active social life in my little town.

One of those first few summer nights, when I was still hurting, I was at Adam’s house with a few people. This song came on and one girl and I proceeded to dance around the living room with another guy’s hat, practically doing a dance that would secure victory for the Mets that season ( it didn’t). It was such a small moment, but in it, with that song and dance, I felt as if all the weight of hurt was lifting off of my shoulders. It was the beginning of a healing.

Wake me up, lower the fever
Walking in a straight line
Set me on fire in the evening
Everything will be fine
Wake me up strong in the morning
Walking in a straight line
Lately I’m a desperate believer
But walking in a straight line


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

